About EEA Grants

Through the EEA Grants and Norway Grants, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway contribute to reducing social and economic disparities and to strengthening bilateral relations with the beneficiary countries in Europe. The three countries cooperate closely with the EU through the Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA).
For the period 2009-14, the EEA Grants and Norway Grants amount to €1.79 billion. Norway contributes approximately 97% of the total funding. Grants are available for NGOs, research and academic institutions, and the public and private sectors in the 12 newest EU member states, Greece, Portugal and Spain. There is broad cooperation with donor state entities, and activities may be implemented until 2016.
Key areas of support are environmental protection and climate change, research and scholarships, civil society, health and children, gender equality, justice and cultural heritage.
For more information please visit www.eeagrants.org
Each country has different needs and priorities. Each country agrees on a set of programmes with the donor countries based on needs, priorities and the scope for bilateral cooperation.
For Greece, EEA Grants focus on the following key areas of support:
  • Safeguarding the right to seek asylum
  • Improving the reception conditions, particularly of unaccompanied asylum-seeking children
  • Capacity Building of Greek NGOs in policy and decision-making processes
Find out more about the EEA and Norway Grants work in Greece here: http://eeagrants.org/Where-we-work/Greece